Uncharted: the Nathan Drake Collection - PS4/PS3

Uncharted; the Nathan Drake Collection is an assembly of the previous console titles in the franchise. There are 3 games on one disc, Drakes Fortune, Among Thieves and Drakes Deception, and all have been reformatted from their previous PlayStation 3 graphics and controls, to meet the standards of the PlayStation 4.

The release of the Uncharted Collection allows players who didn’t experience the adventure when it was first released to play it now, on PlayStation 4 in anticipation of the release of Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End in April.

The Uncharted games are driven by a story. The story of a treasure hunter, Nathan Drake, whose mission it is to uncover the mysteries of the world’s most legendary explorers. The Uncharted games are linear experiences, meaning that they follow a certain path, a specific story, unlike open world games in which you can control your destiny. The movement of the character is reminiscent of Assassins Creed games, with similar puzzles and exploring styles although it doesn’t feel repetitive or boring. The landscape is gorgeous, making you want to step back and take in where you are in the game. Fight your way through fierce jungles, cruel caves and terrifying tombs in order to discover the obscurities left throughout history.

While the uncharted games have many great qualities, like with any game, it isn’t without its flaws. For instance, when attempting to take cover behind a rock or crate the character will occasionally have difficulty hiding, or will suddenly pop up out of cover resulting in death. The unarmed combat can be its own challenge, due to the requirement of pressing certain buttons at specific times and having no prompts other than a slight slow-motion to guide you. These slight annoyances do not detract from the overall enjoyment of the games.

The uncharted collection houses 3 fantastic stories to follow. Uncharted is one of PlayStation’s most beloved exclusive franchises created by developer Naughty Dog, whose credits include the Last of Us and Crash Bandicoot. This collection is highly recommended if you are in need of a break from first person shooters, open world games and just need to experience an exceptional story.
> No unexpected explosions.
> Quick Story.

> Occasionally awkward controls.
Stacks Image 2644
Stacks Image 1765
Stacks Image 1773
Stacks Image 1781
IMAGES: Various scenes and in-game play from Uncharterd; The Nathan Drake Collection. Credit: Naughty Dog